Barbie stole my fucking joke.

Howie “Genocide Joke” Echo-Hawk responds.

Howie Echo-Hawk
7 min readJul 25, 2023

Listen.

Barbie is fucking funny.
It’s fucking hilarious actually.
So many parts of it work, the jokes land so quickly and so unexpectedly– it was wholly unexpected on my part.
In fact I went in expecting to not like it at all and instead me and my partner and my family were talking at length about our favorite quips and jest.

As far as it’s feminism, it was mostly drivel that never really goes there like how you would like– but hey, thats Hollywood baby. Thats just how they do progressive storytelling. I’m sure people are already telling the world about how it basically just makes the Kens and the other men into cartoon jokey jokesters, which never really alludes to the absolute terror that men and the patriarchy have spread, and continue to spread, throughout the world. IFYKYK, right?

But anyways, let’s get to the thanksgiving turkey of it all.
The “I” in the “BIPOC” of it all.
The “I” in the “DEI.”
The“I” in the genocide.
And so on.

--

--